Home > Germany, Personal > Accented Fun, Published Number 1

Accented Fun, Published Number 1

There’s something about an Irish or Australian accent that I find endlessly appealing. Lucky for me, Munich is apparently a hotbed of expatriates from the Emerald Isle and the Land Down Under. It’s not something I would have expected, but with every night I go out, the lesson gets reinforced.

This was especially true last night when I went to my third “Indecisive 20-Somethings” meet-up. I meandered about a block west of the Old Town to Jaeger’s, a hostel for (I assume) younger travelers, with a convenient bar in the lobby.

The rest of my nights this week have been very quiet, which is just as well since the weekends are always such a madhouse. I knew that most of the people I know from Toytown wouldn’t be there for whatever reason (illness, trips, etc) but I was determined not to spend five whole nights sitting around in Garching.

I went in to the bar at a little after 8, which is considerably earlier than I usually go, but I’d had to come in to town early to get to Saturn, an electronics store, before it closed at 8. I was curious about the place mostly because I wondered if the name was very shrewd marketing for the college crowd (turns out it’s the owner’s name. A coincidence he takes advantage of with bottles of Jaegermeister stacked all along the back of the bar). The hostel, like almost every hostel I’ve seen, was fairly bland in decoration, more of a place to leave from than to go out to. I didn’t see anyone I knew yet and actually very few people in general so I took a stool at the bar, ordered an Augustiner (very cheap for Happy Hour) and started to contemplate the infinite. My reverie was fortuitously interrupted before I could completely zone out by the conversation to my right. The bartender and two girls sitting at the bar were discussing possible costumes for the upcoming Fasching (like Carnival, the holiday before Lent, only in Munich it’s apparently more like Halloween). What really drew my eye though was the McDonald’s toy they were playing with, a severed mummy hand that could be wound up to crawl along on its own, fingers waggling. Watching it drag itself toward me, I commented that it looked like an unpleasant way to wake up and thus met Sorcha (an Irish architecture student in between internships), Cris (the Australian bartender), and Ashley (from Canada).

As we chatted, more and more people started to enter the building, crowding around the bar and pushing Cris perform amazing speed feats of bartending. Ashley left not long after, to meet “her guy” (but not apparently her boyfriend according to Sorcha) at a different bar, but Sorcha decided to stay since she had always planned to go to a Toytown event and one had now conveniently and coincidentally come to her.

People continued to pour in. Though technically the event stated at 8, no one (other than me and only for this week) would want to show up so unfashionably early. Still, by around 9:30, there were at least 40 people drinking, laughing, talking, and occasionally singing. Friends of Kris and Sorcha came in and we all took a shot of ridiculously sweet watermelon liquor.

Sorcha suggested we be more social, so we flipped around on our stools to face the crowd and almost immediately got sucked into a variety of fascinating conversations with people I’d seen before but never actually spoken to. Kerre (whose last name is Grant, really) from Montana and I enjoyed questioning Australians like Jessica and Lydia about the true meaning of Vegemite and whether everything Monty Python said about their country was true.

One of the funny things (to me) about Germany is that even in a tiny bar like this with only one beer on tap and a decidedly limited selection, there were still enormous 1-liter mugs for people to drink from. That’s just Bavaria I suppose. It can be tricky to drink from such a large container though. As Kerre commented when she accidentally spilled a little, “I need a smaller hole.”

Though there weren’t many Germans there, I noticed that a lot of people were dressed in traditional Bavarian costume. It looked like a staging of “The Sound of Music.” The guys were dressed in lederhosen and many girls wore dresses that were indefinably but very definitely German. Apparently a bunch of them had decided to all wear them because the chances to do so are few and far between and the outfits are incredibly expensive.

The only people there I recognized from beforehand were Barbara and Roel. I caught up with them about the previous weekend (apparently Roel didn’t remember much of it) and met Marre and her younger sister, who had come from France and were both working as Au Pairs in Munich. With rare exceptions, most non-natives I’ve met are Au Pairs or engineers. An interesting contrast to say the least.

It was around the time I started talking about the disadvantages of loose-leaf tea with Sorcha and an English girl (from Redding of all places) that I realized both how late it was and how tired I was feeling. I made my farewells (writing down my blog address for a few people who were justifiably curious about what I would write) and headed out with a few others to the U-bahn and the long trip back to Garching.

Though not feeling my best, I still got out of bed in time to come to work and continue going through all the press releases for the second time to add in hyperlinks. The whole week has been devoted to it and it’s slowly coming along, though not as fast as I might hope. On a happier note, the first of the press releases I worked on has been published, and pretty soon the video webcast with the script I wrote will be out soon. The office otherwise has not been feeling well. Ross has been coughing all week but he’s still going to Paris today for a weekend trip. You have to admire his fortitude. Colleen was out most of the week as well from illness. I’m upbeat though as tomorrow should be a fun party/night out and both my computer and I will be ideally recovered by then. Prost!

Categories: Germany, Personal
  1. Annabelle
    February 5, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    I was also there. Good night. Cris is definitely Australian though!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

